What to do in Tomsk

Tomsk is a city with 400 years of history, a unique Siberian atmosphere, and a comfortable feel. Today, it is a city of historical traditions and a city of youth all at once, with 60,000 students studying at six universities. Tomsk is a leader in the number of IT specialists: over 7,000 IT specialists work here, and more than 100 exporting software companies are concentrated here.

The Camp Gardens

The Camp Gardens

One of the main public spaces of the city is a park on the upper right bank of the river Tom. There, you’ll find the Memorial to the Glory of the Citizens of Tomsk in the Second World War and Labor: the Eternal Flame, a sculpture of the Motherland, handing a weapon to h son. However, the park is also perfect for leisure activities with a little less gravitas: take a walk in the park, feed the completely tame squirrels, and admire the breathtaking views over the river Tom.

Novosobornaya Square

Novosobornaya Square

The central square of the city, on Lenin Street. There is a monument to St. Tatiana, the patron saint of students in the Russian Orthodox Church, and a symbol of all student life in Russia. Tomsk’s students carefully wrap it in scarves every winter. Novosobornaya Square is the best place to start exploring the city. Stroll through its green alleys, admire the monuments, or sit by the fountain. The main building of Tomsk State University of Control Systems and Radio Electronics is located across the road from Novosobornaya Square. If you go deep into the square, you’ll reach the City Park, where you can go on the rides or have a snack in a café.

Tomsk State University and University Grove

Tomsk State University and University Grove

Tomsk is the student capital of Russia. The snow-white main building of Tomsk State University is located in the very center of the city. It is 140 years old: this is the first university in the country beyond the Urals! Stroll through the University Grove and take a picture with the famous stone women (who are actually men). Go to one of the ten museums of Tomsk State University to see a mammoth’s skeleton, or try on a student’s pre-revolutionary uniform. We also recommend having a coffee and looking through the books in the cozy Starbooks coffee-library, located behind the main building.

Address: 36 Lenin Street
The Tom Quay and the Chekhov Monument

The Tom Quay and the Chekhov Monument

One of the main attractions of the city is the Tom Quay. It is doubtful that even a single person who has ever visited Tomsk hasn’t been here. More than a thousand people come here every day to meet the sun as it rises or enjoy the beautiful sunset. Come to the quay to hear Tomsk jazz played by fun street performers, or play a street piano yourself. And, when you find yourself near the monument to writer Anton Pavlovich Chekhov, be sure to take a photo and rub his nose (or at least the handle of his umbrella). It is said to bring good luck.

Voskresenskaya Mountain

Voskresenskaya Mountain

The place where the city started. In 1604, at the invitation of Prince Toyan of the Eushta Tatars, the Cossacks erected a fortress here to protect them from their warlike neighbors. You can climb the mountain from Lenin Square along Bakunin street. On the mountain, you’ll find the Museum of Tomsk History and a partially reconstructed fortress. From the turret of the museum, you can see a panoramic view of the center of Tomsk (and the Afanasiy the Fireman, a symbol of Tomsk’s defense against fires). It’s best to go down via the October Road, admiring the Voskresenskaya Church in the Siberian Baroque style along the way.

The House With the Tent (the home of merchant G. M. Golovanov)

"The House With the Tent" (the home of merchant G. M. Golovanov)

This is a true masterpiece of wooden architecture, known in Tomsk as the "House With the Tent". Recognized as an architectural monument of national significance, it is currently home to the Russian-German House, the center of cultural life for the Germans of Tomsk. If a walk in the park and the view of the building from outside aren’t enough for you, step inside for a visit. Here, you’ll learn interesting facts about the history of the house. You’ll also be invited for "merchant tea" and a photo session inside.

Address and telephone: 71 Krasnoarmeyskaya Street, 52-17-25 Business hours: 9:00–18:00
House from The Wizard of the Emerald City

House from The Wizard of the Emerald City

Khomich’s mansion is like something out of a fairytale. You could spend hours looking into the spire and out the many bay windows, carved windows, and balconies of the house. By the number of decorative elements, it surpasses all other buildings in Tomsk. According to one of the city’s legends, it became a source of inspiration for author Aleksandr Volkov, whose book The Wizard of the Emerald City introduced the Wizard of Oz to Russian audiences. Additionally, when the writer lived in Tomsk and was working on his adaptation of L. Frank Baum’s The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, fences and roofs of houses in the city were painted green.

Address: 19 Belinsky Street

Where to eat?

The Burger Lab

The Burger Lab

The Burger Lab has long been recognized as the best burger house in Tomsk. The highlights of the menu are their sandwiches (three types, including the current favorite, pastrami) and burgers (classic, vegetarian and themed: Italian, Thai, Indian, American, and so on). Their house drinks are a must-try: lemonades, milkshakes, smoothies and coffee.

Address: 16 Rose Luxemburg street Business hours: 11:00–23:00
Make Love Pizza

Make Love Pizza

With its roots in one of the most popular pizza delivery services in Tomsk, Make Love Pizza Café continues to honor its legacy. Here, you’ll find all the same cleverly made pizzas with amusing names (“Magic Mushrooms”, “Meister Pizza”, “Daring Solo”), green salads, signature milkshakes and desserts — plus friendly servers and great coffee..

Address: 85a Lenin street Business hours: 10:00–23:00
The Meat Café

The Meat Café

An establishment serving Siberian cuisine, with an interior designed in the style of old Russian huts. Here, you can enjoy smoked meat and seafood, excellent steaks and dumplings with a variety of fillings. The intricate presentation of each dish turns lunch into a real event.

Address: 80/1 Lenin street Business hours: 10:00–24:00
Breath of Wok

Breath of Wok

An authentic Chinese dinner with hand-drawn noodles and rice with various toppings, sweet and savory steamed buns, wok soups and salads with creamy dressings. The portions are large, and the food is so delicious that Breath of Wok is a guaranteed hit, whether you just want to grab a bite or you’re taking your guests out for a dinner in the city.

Address: 22B Lenin street Business hours: Mon-Sat 10:00–22:00, Sun. 10:00–21:00
Entrecôte

Entrecôte

A steakhouse for everyone with a simple interior and friendly staff. Steaks, burgers, chicken and vegetables are cooked on an open fire. To drink, they offer mors (a Russian berry drink), tea and coffee, as well as a small selection of beers.

Address: 22B Trifonov street Business hours: 9:00–18:00
Torta

Torta

A chain of pastry cafés where you can grab a bite, arrange a business meeting, or just have a good time. Treat yourself to fresh pies, original cakes and other desserts. We highly recommend their light mousse cakes and pastries. You’ll find a variety of flavors on offer, from basil with strawberries to banana with caramel. Also available are coffee, artisanal fruit teas and wine.p>

Address: 90 Frunze street Business hours: 8:00–22:00

Чем заняться в Томске

Томск – город с 400-летней историей, неповторимой сибирской атмосферой и уютом. Сегодня это город исторических традиций и одновременно город молодости, где обучаются 60 000 студентов в 6 университетах. А ещё Томску принадлежит лидерство по концентрации IT -шников: здесь трудятся 7 000+ IT-специалистов и сосредоточено 100+ экспортирующих софтверных компаний.

Лагерный сад

Лагерный сад

Одно из главных общественных пространств города – парк на высоком правом берегу Томи. Здесь расположен мемориал боевой и трудовой славы томичей: Вечный огонь, скульптура Родины-матери, вручающей оружие сыну. Впрочем, сад предлагает и вполне гражданские развлечения: погулять по парку, покормить совершенно ручных белок и полюбоваться грандиозным видом на Томь.

Ново-Соборная площадь

Ново-Соборная площадь

Центральная площадь города на проспекте Ленина. Здесь обязательный для студенческого города памятник Татьяне, которую томские студенты заботливо обматывают шарфами каждую зиму. Новособорная площадь – лучшее место, чтобы начать знакомство с городом. Прогуляйтесь по её зелёным аллеям, полюбуйтесь памятниками или посидите у фонтана. Через дорогу от Новособорной площади расположен главный корпус Томского государственного университета систем управления и радиоэлектроники. А если пройдёте вглубь площади, то попадёте в городской сад, где можно покататься на аттракционах или перекусить в кафе.

ТГУ и Университетская роща

ТГУ и Университетская роща

Томск – студенческая столица России. В самом центре города расположен белоснежный главный корпус Томского государственного университета. В мае ему исполнится 140 лет, это первый университет страны за Уралом! Прогуляйтесь по Университетской роще и сфотографируйтесь со знаменитыми каменными бабами (которые на самом деле мужчины). Зайдите в один из десятка музеев ТГУ, чтобы посмотреть на скелет мамонта или примерить дореволюционную форму студента. А ещё рекомендуем выпить кофе и полистать книги в уютной кофейне-библиотеке Starbooks, которая находится за главным корпусом.

Адрес: пр. Ленина, 36
Набережная Томи и памятник Чехову

Набережная Томи и памятник Чехову

Одна из главных достопримечательностей города – набережная Томи. Наверное, нет ни одного человека, который был в Томске и не побывал бы там. Более тысячи человек приходят сюда каждый день, чтобы встретить рассвет или проводить закат. Приходите на набережную, чтобы послушать весёлых уличных артистов, которые играют томский джаз, или сыграйте сами на уличном пианино. А как окажетесь рядом с памятником писателю Антону Павловичу Чехову – обязательно сделайте фото и потрите ему нос (или хотя бы ручку зонта). Говорят, это приносит удачу.

Воскресенская гора

Воскресенская гора

Место, откуда начинался город. В 1604 году по приглашению князя эуштинских татар Тояна казаки возвели здесь острог для защиты от воинственных соседей. Подняться на гору можно от пл. Ленина по ул. Бакунина. На горе находится Музей истории Томска и частично реконструированный острог. С башенки музея открывается панорамный вид на центр Томска (а ещё там стоит пожарный Афанасий – символ защиты Томска от пожаров). Спускаться лучше по Октябрьскому взвозу, по пути полюбовавшись на Воскресенскую церковь в стиле сибирского барокко.

Театр живых кукол «2+ку»

Театр живых кукол "2+ку"

"2+Ку" — театр, построенный Владимиром Захаровым — его автором, режиссёром, робототехником и актёром. И это действительно волшебное место. На самом деле "2+Ку" — больше чем театр, это целый фантастический мир, в котором обитают и работают уникальные куклы-автоматы. Оживающие в руках мастера или живущие своей самостоятельной жизнью, они наполняют весь театр магией, помогают расслабиться и снова стать ребёнком. Постановки Захарова — о любви, дружбе и сложном жизненном выборе — всегда наполнены глубоким философским смыслом и дают ответы на, пожалуй, самые сложные вопросы.

Адрес и телефон: пер. Южный, 29, 42-04-86 Время работы: Пн.-Пт. — выходной, Сб.- Вс. 12:00 — 19:00

"Дом с шатром" (жилой дом купца Г.М. Голованова)

Это настоящий шедевр деревянного зодчества, известный в Томске как "Дом с шатром", имеющий статус памятника архитектуры федерального значения. Сейчас в нём размещается Российско-немецкий дом, центр культурной жизни томских немцев. Если прогулки по парку и созерцание здания снаружи вам покажется мало – отправляйтесь на экскурсию по "Дому с шатром". Здесь вам расскажут интересные факты об истории дома, а потом пригласят на "купеческое чаепитие" и фотосессию в интерьерах.

Адрес и телефон: ул. Красноармейская, 71, 52-17-25 Время работы: 9:00–18:00
Дом из “Изумрудного города”

Дом из "Изумрудного города"

Особняк Хомича похож на сказочный терем. Шпиль, множество эркеров, резные окна и балконы – дом можно рассматривать часами. По количеству декоративных элементов он превосходит все другие здания в Томске. По одной из городских легенд он стал одним из источников вдохновения для создателя сказки об изумрудном городе Александра Волкова. Кроме того, именно в тот период, когда писатель жил в Томске и занимался переводом книги американца Лаймена Фрэнка Баума "Удивительный Волшебник из страны Оз", в городе стали красить крыши домов и ограды в зелёный цвет.

Адрес: ул. Белинского, 19

Где поесть?

The Burger Lab

The Burger Lab

The Burger Lab. уже не первый год стабильно держит марку лучшей бургерной Томска. Основа меню – сэндвичи (три вида, в том числе с модной сейчас пастрами) и бургеры (классические, чёрные, вегетарианские и национальные – итальянский, тайский, индийский, американский). Обязательно попробуйте авторские напитки: лимонады, милкшейки, смузи и кофе.

Адрес: ул. Розы Люксембург, 16 Время работы: 11:00–23:00
Make Love Pizza

Make Love Pizza

Выросшее на одной из самых популярных в Томске служб доставки пиццы кафе Make Love Pizza продолжает её традиции. Здесь всё такие же хитро сделанные пиццы со смешными названиями (“Мэджик Машрумс”, “Мейстер Пиццель”, “Дерзкий Соло”), зелёные салаты, фирменные молочные коктейли и десерты. А также дружелюбные ребята и отличный кофе.

Адрес: проспект Ленина, 85а Время работы: 10:00–23:00
Мясное Кафе

Мясное Кафе

Заведение с сибирской кухней, стилизованное под старорусские избы. Здесь коптят мясо и морепродукты, подают хорошие стейки, лепят пельмени и вареники. Подача блюд затейливая и превращает обед в настоящую трапезу.

Адрес: проспект Ленина, 80/1 Время работы: 10:00–24:00
Дыхание вока

Дыхание вока

Аутентичная китайская закусочная, где подают тянутую вручную лапшу и рис с разными добавками, сладкие и несладкие паровые пирожки, супы на воке, крем-салаты. Порции здесь большие, а еда такая вкусная, что демократичное “Дыхание вока” пользуется успехом и когда нужно просто перекусить, и когда куда-то нужно повести гостей города.

Адрес: проспект Ленина, 22 Время работы: Пн.–Сб. 10:00–22:00, Вс. 10:00–21:00
Антрекот

Антрекот

Демократичный стейк-хаус с простым интерьером и приветливыми сотрудниками. Мясные стейки, бургеры, курицу и овощи готовят на открытом огне. Кроме морса, чая и кофе есть небольшой выбор пива.

Адрес: ул. Трифонова, 22б Время работы: 9:00–18:00
Torta

Torta

Сеть кафе-кондитерских, где можно вкусно поесть, хорошо провести время или назначить деловую встречу. Побалуйте себя свежими пирожками, оригинальными тортами и десертами. Рекомендуем попробовать легкие муссовые торты и пирожные. Здесь есть самые разные сочетания вкусов — от базилика с клубникой до банана с карамелью. В меню есть кофе, авторские фруктовые чаи и вино.

Адрес: проспект Фрунзе, 90 Время работы: 8:00–22:00